J.B. Mohapatra elected as a New Chairman of CBDT

1. The government on Wednesday has appointed Jagannath Bidyadhar Mohapatra as a new Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT).

“The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Shri J.B. Mohapatra, IRS (IT:85031), Member, Central Board of Direct Taxes as Chairman, Central Board of Direct Taxes,” the government notified.

2. Mr. J B Mohapatra, a 1985-batch Indian Revenue Service officer, was given the additional charge as CBDT chairman after the extended tenure of incumbent P. C. Mody ended. Mohapatra was the principal chief commissioner of the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana region.

3. Presently, the Chairman of CBDT is Mr. Pramod Chandra Mody, who is a 1982-batch Indian Revenue Service officer, was appointed as the CBDT chief in February 2019. The CBDT is headed by a chairman and can have six members. All of these officers are in the rank of special secretary.

Leave a Reply

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


Job Alerts  1

Jobs Alerts 2https://chat.whatsapp.com/DVVJiiXsH8X6nEiAsSZWAN